Follow Your Bliss vs. Beast Mode

I’m going to start with a confession. It isn’t earth shattering — but in the healthy living blog world it may be.

Currently, there’s Cool Ranch Doritos dust on my keyboard.

They were really good. Good in that overly salty, crunchy, not-even-close-to-an-actual-food-found-in-nature kind of way. I’ve heard and read that these kinds of cravings, or poor eating habits subside once they are replaced with good habits and healthy food.

Which brings me to the title of my post: “Follow Your Bliss vs. Beast Mode”

I’ve realized that I struggle with some kind of healthy living schizophrenia. As in, I either commit to doing a detox from said Doritos with kale juice, sign up for unlimited yoga, and buy a new pair of  Lululemon pants or swear off the Doritos, buy the biggest bin of chocolate protein powder, head off the the grocery store with an ancient cutting diet plan in hand, and pack my gym bag.

I lack balance. Not only in this area, but others as well – but that is for another post my friends 🙂

There are many different schools of thought with regard to getting healthy. There’s intuitive eating vs. 5-6 meals a day. Treadmill Shredmill workouts vs. Bikram. I used to think that for me at least, it had to be all or nothing. But I’m realizing that what I need is balance. More green, less Doritos. Less sitting, more sweating. and I shouldn’t be afraid to mix is up!

I need a plan with variety and balance, and I need to stick to it. I’ll be back later with what the plan is!

 

 

Leave a Reply

