Confession Time

Confession time! Here goes:

I’m a socially awkward penguin. Case in point..this is me:

Image

(Source)

I grew up “like” an only child. I say it that way because, well, I’m not an only child by any means. I have two older sisters and an older brother. However, I was the surprise baby, and spent most of my childhood and teenage years at home alone  as the only child in the house.

Occasionally, I think this has a lot to do with my overall personality. By default, I am an introvert. I’m not a fan of crowds or large groups of people, and am not by any means the life of the party. I’m a homebody, I enjoy quiet, I like when it is just me, the hubby and the puppy.

At 29, I’m totally down with my bad introverted self 🙂 However, what I find much different from say, 5 years ago is how solitary I now am.

Sidenote: solitary and introverted are not the same thing. Check out this vid – The Power of Introverts by Susan Cain

What’s the difference you ask? I asked myself the same thing. Why am I not typically comfortable in social situations any longer, why do I shy away from meeting new people or making new friends? Why don’t I share my awesomeness more often?

Super simple answer: because I’m not comfortable in my own skin. Literally. In the past 5 years or so, I’ve gained about 25lbs. In the past 7, I’ve gained closer to 40lbs. Image

Me in college, me a few months after our wedding and me at a work party last winter

Eek. Weight gain has a way of surprising you doesn’t it? I’ve steadily packed on weight from emotional eating (happy and sad), inconsistency (I’ll start, but will find something else fitness related to distract me in 0.004357 seconds), poor planning (tomorrow’s Monday? I haven’t gone grocery shopping!!) and excuses  (I’ll eat this cake today and start first thing tomorrow).

I’m a planner by nature, and an overthinker. Which often results in me planning yet doing nothing, which results in no results.

Image

So, I’m committing to taking a different approach, a little less planning and more doing. I’m tossing in some accountability, and some kind of social aspect as well. Stay tuned!

One thought on “Confession Time

  1. I’m sorry to put a link in the reply, and I’ll probably be spotted as spam.
    I just found your blog and wouldn’t normally share something like this, but since you started this post with a meme, I thought you might appreciate this image of How to Deal with And Introvert….http://pinterest.com/pin/107664247314118453/

    I deal with similar introverted issues. I’m completely fine with my introversion, but sometimes I let my self-consciousness take it too far and I end up folding in on myself.

Leave a Reply

